Contentment: The Gap Between Our Expectations and Our Reality

I ran across a video recently that included Gary Smalley – the well-known author of marriage-related books including, 4 Days to a Forever Marriage.  He was discussing contentment and he talked about a time a few years previously when he was struggling and dissatisfied with life and he came across a simple equation for happiness.  Happiness, he said, is the gap between our expectations in life  and our reality.  When the gap is large in important personal areas of life (for our career, our financial status, our family – you name it), we tend to be unhappy.

If you reflect on the concept – there’s only two ways to close the gap: you can substantially improve your current reality (not always easy to do) or you can let go of some expectations.  In Smalley’s case, he became determined to give up his unrealistic expectations to God (who owns the outcomes anyway).

Such a simple concept can be stunningly powerful and it made me recall a short fable that I included in my book, A Better Way to Make a Living…and a Life a few years ago.  I’ve tried to find the author but to no avail – see if this strikes you as it did me:

An American businessman struck up a conversation with a fisherman in a small coastal Mexican village. Noticing his fairly small catch, the American asked why he didn’t stay out longer and try for a bigger catch. The Mexican said he had enough to support his family’s immediate needs.

 “What do you do with the rest of your time?” the American asked.

 “I sleep late, fish a little, play with my children, take a siesta with my wife, Maria, stroll into the village each evening where I sip wine and play guitar with my amigos. I have a full and busy life, señor.”

 “I am a Harvard MBA and could help you,” said the scoffing American, who proceeded to advise him to buy a bigger boat and eventually a whole fleet, followed by a cannery, and then have enough money to move to a big city to run his expanding business empire.

 “What then, señor?”

The American told him he’d be a millionaire.

“Then what, señor?”

 “Then you would retire and move to a small coastal fishing village where you would sleep late, fish a little, play with your kids, take a siesta with your wife, stroll to the village in the evenings where you could sip wine and play your guitar with your amigos.”

The irony: we spend so much time chasing “the dream” only to find, often too late in our lives, that what we really treasure is often what we already have.  That’s what contentment means to me, in practical terms – loving what you have instead of wanting what don’t have.

Paul wrote about this concept in Phil 4:11-13 when he said, …for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

What about you?  Do you have a happiness “gap”?  Have you considered letting go of some of your expectations in order to love what you have instead of wanting something more?

I pray that today is the start of your journey to contentment  – instead of an aspiration to achieve.

About aservantsmusings

A recovering, Type "A" workaholic who is intent on loving the Lord with all my heart, soul, and mind and loving others as Jesus has called me to do.
This entry was posted in Careers, Faith, Family and marriage, Inspirational. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Contentment: The Gap Between Our Expectations and Our Reality

  1. Tom Darrow says:

    Awesome Peter! A very timely reminder. Certainly our “never satisfied” culture in America speaks counter to this good counsel and it’s a constant battle. The happiest people I know are the ones who have done just this. They are content with what they have now and feel blessed when more comes along.

  2. scarlettsands says:

    I have never been drawn to God before but I feel more and more like He may be the answer.

    • Hi Scarlett and thanks for the post. Just ask God to make himself obvious to you and I have found he will – you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

      Have a great Easter.

  3. Paul says:

    I find that this gap in our expectations and reality leads to disappointment, in ourself, others and God. This disappointment or dissatisfaction leads to unhappiness. It is difficult to overcome but by turning it over to God, we place our trust in him and he never disappoints. I live in a small town in Idaho most people never heard of. My wife needed some new clothes yesterday and we had to drive two hours to the big city of Spokane to find what she needed. I was not happy about making this trip but on the drive up we saw a mother moose and her calf. Until last year I had never seen a moose, in the wild or a zoo. Now, and here were a mother and calf, and it was a beautiful spring day so we also got some beautiful photos. We accomplished our mission, had dinner at one of my wife’s favorite restaurants and returned home, it turned into a near perfect day. I believe that God arranges things in our lives to bring us closer to him and his perfect reality and he did this yesterday in my life. And today is Easter, God’s gift to all mankind! Like the fisherman in the story, God takes care of our needs, if we just let him!

Leave a comment